Why Theater of the Mind

Christopher McHale
2 min readOct 12, 2022

Close your eyes and hear my words.

I like to add a dimensionally to my writing.

Film. Graphic novels. And I like my writing to have a pulse. A rhythm. A beat.

So I write poetry and lyrics and scripts too.

Every format has a different feel to it. Locking into that feeling is the key to success.

But more than any other type of writing, I like to write for radio.

Remember radio?

Theater of the mind. All you have to do is close your eyes, and the story has a limitless landscape. Pure magic.

The listener paints the characters. The listener dresses them. The listener builds the towers and castles.

Write by ear. That’s the way I’ve always thought of it.

Voice. Music. Effects.

That’s all we have in our theater of the mind. Master those tools and that dimensionally I mentioned? It’s infinite.

Imagination unbound.

Do you know that old bromide we use so much these days? Engagement? Engage your audience? Connection? Connect with your audience?

If you spark a connection in a listener’s ear, you spark a soul mate. Someone who is with you for the full ride.

--

--

Christopher McHale

Writer | Composer | Producer | Human | Christopher writes about creativity, culture, technology, music, writing. www.christophermchale.com