Trump shot: Ugly America

Christopher McHale
1 min readJul 14, 2024
Photo by Daniel Herron on Unsplash

First, there are the guns. Always. An AR-15 handled by a 20-year old.

Then there’s the hate. We’ve heard a 24/7 barrage of hate and lies.

Then there’s social media. A field plowed and seeded for conspiracy. And I’ve read so many in the last twelve hours. A tsunami of basement agendas.

There’s so much about this assassination attempt that makes zero sense. Certainly enough questions to boil a vat of knee-jerk opinion swamping servers. I don’t get a lot of this, but I don’t know a lot either.

But I do know this.

The rhetoric in this election is off the chart’s irresponsible. I’ve seen horrific posts from members of Congress. I’ve seen agitated fingers of blame pointing in all directions, not subtle, but outright accusations. I’ve seen issues piled on top, like blaming DEI for the fact there were women agents ‘doing a man’s job.’ I’ve seen ‘evidence’ George Soros is behind it.

It has only been twelve hours and I’ve seen all that.

What that says about how weak and reactionary we’ve become makes me hang my head.

--

--

Christopher McHale

Chris is the CCO of Studio Jijiji and writes about creativity, culture, technology, music, and writing. www.christophermchale.com, www.studiojijiji.io